Ken Clark Organ Trio follows their critically acclaimed Severn debut Eternal Funk with Mutual Respect. The New England based trio offers 11 tracks spotlighting the Hammond B-3, with a foundation of styles ranging from traditional jazz to funk and soul. Clever melodies, and superb musicianship are this trio’s strong points. Mutual Respect was recorded live in the studio with very few overdubs.

“Clark controls the B3 like a master: hip bass lines, sizzling chordal washes, feel-good riffs, funky blues lines and syncopated accents figure in the mix.” — Owen Cordle, Jazz Times

“[Ken] plays a supercharged Hammond B-3 the way it used to be played, leading a topnotch rhythm section in grooves that bring to mind the great Jimmy Smith, Larry Young, and Don Patterson albums of the 1950’s and 60’s.” – Fred Shuster, L.A. Daily News


We would like to thank our families, the Dos Rod and all the fans venues and helping hands who have supported us over the years. Steve would like to thank Special thanks to Dos Rod, Heather Burns, Andy Keesan (Dicenso’s Drum Shop), Neil Grover (Silverfox Drumsticks), Kim Dunning (Zildjian Cymbals), and Joe MacSweeney (Eames Drums).

Mike would like to thank Kato, Hannah, Sophie & Nica.

Steve Chaggaris uses Silverfox drumsticks.


Ken Clark: Organ, Electric Piano, and Vocals
Mike Mele: Guitar
Steve Chaggaris: Drums


Produced by Ken Clark and David Earl
Recorded and mixed by David Earl at Severn Sound Studio, Severn, MD
Mastered by Charlie Pilzer at Airshow Mastering, Springfield, VA
Photography by Randy Santos
Design by Al Brandtner, Brandtner Design, Chicago, IL

All songs by Ken Clark, Tone Wheel Music / DE Music (BMI) except “For Now” and “Kato” by Mike Mele, Mele Publishing / DE Music (BMI) and “Close the Door” by K. Gamble, L. Huff, Warner-Tamerlane Pub. Corp.

Severn CD0035