Words of Caution finds singer Lou Pride delving into twelve blues-soaked soul numbers for 47 minutes of pure listening enjoyment. “Fellas, better treat her right!” warns the veteran baritone in the title track, a song that could just as easily sound at home in Al Green’s songbook as it does here. He further explores his soul roots with “Love for My Baby,” “I Found My Baby Gone” and “It’s a Good Thing,” a silky smooth original reminiscent of Barry White’s offerings from the ’70’s.

But his roots extend further to include blues, as heard on Delbert McClinton’s heartbreaking “You Were Never Mine” and “Livin’ a Lie,” highlighted by the sensational Albert-King-inspired fretwork of Harold Flood, plus gospel with “You Are My Rainbow,” a gorgeous example kindled by Pride’s upbringing in the church. And in what seems an effortless task, the man with the big voice tackles two Roy C. Hammond tunes with ease, “Don’t Blame the Man” and “After the Disco” (re-worked as “After the Party”), plus a power-packed rendition of Ann Peebles’ “Beware!”

Brimming with standout performances from a six-piece horn section led by Willie Henderson of Tyrone Davis fame and the Severn Studio Band (Steve Gomes on bass, Jon Moeller on guitar, Robb Stupka on drums plus Benjie Porecki and Bill Heid sharing keyboard duties), it’s no surprise that Words of Caution is a crowning moment for the golden-throated Pride.

Check out Lou’s other titles on Severn Records: The Memphis/El Paso Sessions; Keep On Believing; and Ain’t No More Love In This House.


The road has led me to Severn Records. I want to thank David Earl and all the musicians that gave their heart and soul for this record. I thank the Lord and Master for the gift he has given me. The song “You Are My Rainbow” is my personal praise to the Lord, and to all I say follow your dreams and your rainbow. — Lou Pride


Lou Pride: Lead Vocals, Background Vocals and Shaker on track 4
Jon Moeller: Guitar
Steve Gomes: Bass
Robb Stupka: Drums
Benjie Porecki: Hammond Organ and Fender Rhodes
Bill Heid: Hammond Organ (tracks 4, 6, 7)
Steve Cyphers: Percussion
Harold Flood: Guitar Solo (track 9); Rhythm Guitar (track 10)
Meg Murray: Background Vocals
Kahlilah Davidson: Background Vocals
Eddie Jones: Background Vocals (track 11)
Earl Jones: Background Vocals (track 11)
Horns arranged and conducted by Willie Henderson
Kenny Rittenhouse: Trumpet
Tommy Williams: Trumpet
Scott Young: Tenor Saxophone


Produced by David Earl and Steve Gomes
Executive Producer: David Earl
Recorded and mixed at Severn Sound Studio, Crownsville, MD
Engineered by David Earl
Additional Engineer: John Monforte
Mastered by Charlie Pilzer at Airshow Mastering, Springfield, VA
CD design by Steve Potter
Photography/Digital Enhancement: Randy Santos

Severn CD0017