The stylistic demarcation zone between blues and soul music has long been an elusive one to define. On The Whole Truth, Texas singer Darrell Nulisch offers a devastatingly effective solution: He sings the hell out of both genres.

Now based in Boston, Nulisch brought a portfolio of soul-streaked originals (“There It Is,” “Stop Thinking Take [Start Thinking Give],” “One Night Lover,” and three more, all co-written with his longtime bassist Steve Gomes) and a fistful of well-chosen covers (George “Harmonica” Smith’s “Telephone Blues,” Percy Sledge’s “Love Me Like You Mean It,” Roy C’s “Leaving On The Morning Train,” Smokey Robinson & the Miracles’ “There’s A Sad Story Here”) into the studio, emerging with an album that runs the gamut of human emotions: love, heartache, sorrow, joy. In toto, The Whole Truth. A prolific songwriter, Nulisch has penned songs for artists such as Maria Muldar & Buckwheat Zyedeco.

Along with Gomes, Nulisch’s backing crew included guitarist Jon Moeller (like Gomes, a veteran of Nulisch’s former band Texas Heat, which cut the critically acclaimed album (Business As Usual for Black Top), drummer Robb Stupka (a former timekeeper for the late Luther Allison), keyboardist Benjie Porecki, and the D.C. Horns. In addition to singing, Darrell displays his talent as a harmonica player on several selections on The Whole Truth.

Darrell is tremendously pleased with this release. “I feel like this one paid off,” he says. “We really put a lot of time and effort into it. I finally got what I wanted.”

And that’s The Whole Truth.

Check out Darrell’s entire Severn catalog: I Like It That WayTimes Like These; Goin’ Back to Dallas; and Just For You.


I would like to express thanks to all the beautiful musicians who worked so hard on this project. A special thanks to Chris Rival at My Generation. Most of all, thanks to David Earl and Severn Records for the vision and dedication to making the best possible products. Thanks Dave – without you none of this would have happened. — Darrell


Darrell Nulisch: Vocals, Harmonica
Jon Moeller: Guitar
Benjie Porecki: Keyboards
Steve Gomes: Bass
Robb Stupka: Drums

Additional Musicians
Ricardo Monzon: Percussion
DC Horns: Michael Fitzhugh (Trumpet), Eric McMillan (Trumpet), Douglas Gilchrist (Trombone), Jacques Johnson (Tenor Saxophone)
Marjorie Clark: Backup Vocals
Deirdre Wright: Backup Vocals
Natalie Jackson: Backup Vocals
David Earl: Additional Guitar (“Like Reed”)


Producers: Darrell Nulisch, Steve Gomes, and David Earl
Executive Producer: David Earl
Recorded and Mixed by Chris Rival at My Generation Studios, Somerville, MA
Mastered by Charlie Pilzer at Air Show, Inc., Springfield, VA
Horns Arranged and Directed by Adolph Wright
Ricardo Monzon plays LP® Percussion

Severn CD0003